Palestine

Context

In 2018, the political situation in Palestine deteriorated particularly after the many hostile measures taken by the Trump administration towards the occupied territories (the illegal recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and cutting off financing to the UNRWA which is the UN agency for Palestinian refugees). The occupation has intensified with random demolition of Palestine villages on the West Bank, the annexing of land and the forced displacement of the Bedouin peoples (case of the Bedouin village of Khan al-Ahmar). Furthermore, United Nations reports appear alarmist in the face of an environmental, economic and political situation that will be insupportable by 2020. The “Great March of Return”, although peaceful, continues to be suppressed by the Israeli army, resulting in more deaths and injuries every month, mainly among young people.

OUR ACTION

Solsoc works with two partner organisations in Palestine, Ma’an and PAC. They work with young people and women who are employed, unemployed or students, as well as with local organisations and decision-makers in Gaza and the West Bank (including East Jerusalem). These organisations aim to develop spaces for discussion, exchanging ideas and experiences to improve the positioning of young people on the issues that concern them by encouraging their social responsibility and citizen participation. They also facilitate networking and alliances with certain key actors in order to work on the common challenges and reclaim the Palestinian identity. Our partners also raise young people’s awareness of alternative socio-economic models and strengthen their technical abilities to develop social and solidarity economy initiatives.

Solsoc also supports the PGFTU, the main Palestinian trade union, particularly for workers in the stone quarry sector. The programme's aim is to raise awareness and train workers in this sector, especially in measures related to health and safety at work. Furthermore, it also conducts advocacy initiatives to improve compliance with workers’ rights, and the application and even extension of the Labour Code.

3

PARTNER ORGANISATIONS

52

LOCAL ORGANISATIONS SUPPORTED

1,6

MILLION EUROS OF FINANCIAL CONTRIBUTIONS FROM SOLSOC IN 5 YEARS

Testimony

I have worked within the programme since 2016 as a coordinator to the regional Al-Awda centre located in the northern West Bank. Thanks to this job, I have developed project management skills. I have also learned to be adaptable and manage unexpected situations in a very unstable context. I work mainly with young people like myself, they inspire me and enable me to see a better future. I am proud to express myself and bring up the needs of young people. What affects me most in the programme is the spirit in which the projects are conducted with young people, the mark left by these actions.

 

Adeen Ibrahim Daher, COORDINATOR OF THE AL AWDA CENTRE

Our partners

SUPPORTED BY

By using the website with the URL www.solsoc.be, you consent to the placement of cookies on your device in accordance with this Cookie Usage Policy.
I agree

Palestine

Contexte

Durant l’année 2018, la situation politique en Palestine s’est dégradée notamment après les multiples mesures hostiles prises par l’administration Trump envers les territoires occupés (Reconnaissance illégale de Jérusalem comme capitale d’Israël, arrêt du financement de l’UNRWA qui est l’agence de l’ONU pour les réfugié∙e∙s palestinien∙ne∙s). L’occupation s’est intensifiée avec les démolitions aléatoires de villages palestiniens en Cisjordanie, l’annexion de terres et les déplacements forcés des populations bédouines (cas du village bédouin de Khan Al Ahmar). De plus, les rapports des Nations Unies se montrent alarmistes face à une situation environnementale, économique et politique qui sera invivable d’ici 2020. La Marche du retour, pourtant pacifique, continue d’être réprimée par l'armée israélienne faisant chaque mois des mort∙e∙s et des blessé∙e∙s principalement parmi les jeunes.

Notre action

Solsoc travaille avec deux organisations partenaires en Palestine, Ma’an et PAC. Elles travaillent avec les jeunes hommes et femmes, les étudiant·e·s, les jeunes employé·e·s et les jeunes chômeur·euse·s, ainsi qu’avec des organisations locales et des décideurs, à Gaza et en Cisjordanie (y compris Jérusalem Est). Ces organisations entendent développer des espaces pour la discussion, l’échange d’idées et d’expériences pour renforcer le positionnement des jeunes sur les problèmes qui les concernent en encourageant leur responsabilité sociale et leur participation citoyenne. Elles facilitent la mise en réseau et les alliances avec certains acteurs clés afin de travailler sur des enjeux communs et de se réapproprier l’identité palestinienne. Nos partenaires conscientisent également les jeunes à l’existence de modèles socio-économiques alternatifs et renforcent leurs compétences techniques pour développer des initiatives d’économie sociale et solidaire.

D’autre part Solsoc soutient la PGFTU, le principal syndicat palestinien, et en particulier avec les travailleur·euse·s du secteur des carrières de pierre. L’objectif du programme est de sensibiliser et former les travailleur·euse·s de ce secteur, et en particulier sur les mesures de santé et sécurité au travail. Par ailleurs, il mène également des actions de plaidoyer pour améliorer le respect des droits des travailleur·euse·s, notamment l’application, voire l’extension du Code du travail.

3

ORGANISATIONS PARTENAIRES

52

ORGANISATIONS LOCALES SOUTENUES

1,6

MILLIONS D’EUROS D'APPORT FINANCIER DE SOLSOC EN 5 ANS

Témoignage

Je travaille au sein du programme depuis 2016 comme coordinatrice au centre régional Al-Awda, situé au nord de la Cisjordanie. Grâce à cet emploi, j’ai développé des compétences en gestion de projet. Aussi, j'ai appris à faire preuve d’adaptation et à gérer des situations inattendues dans un contexte très instable. Je travaille principalement avec des jeunes comme moi, ils m’inspirent et me permettent d’envisager un futur meilleur. Je suis fière de m’exprimer et de faire remonter les besoins des jeunes. Ce qui me touche le plus dans le programme c'est l’esprit dans lequel sont menés les projets auprès des jeunes, et l’empreinte laissée par ces actions.

Adeen Ibrahim Daher, Coordinatrice du Centre Al Awda

Nos partenaires

Soutenus par

En utilisant le site Internet ayant pour URL www.solsoc.be, vous consentez à ce que les cookies puissent être placés sur votre appareil conformément à la présente Politique d'Utilisation des Cookies.
J'accepte